Silicon Vultures debut single available as free MP3 download

Silicon Vultures’ debut single release ‘Sour Tits’ is currently available as a free download, and if the name of that track isn’t enticing, I don’t know what is. The band have also announced that they’ll release a 7″ vinyl-only 5-track single on 23 April via Captains Of Industry. Not sure what that’s called, to be honest, but you can preorder it from from 2 April.

The band have some dates coming up, so here they are:

6 March : Boiler Room, Guilford
9 March : DJ set @ Prison Sex, Kettering
6 April : 1 In 12 Club, Bradford
13 April : DJ set @ Prison Sex, Kettering
20 April : Splash Club @ Catch, London
26 April : Captains Of Industry party @ The Barfly, Camden

Get the free download from here. [192kbps/4.2MB/MP3/No DRM]

Global Cool enlist big names to combat global warming

Global cool logoThe worst effects of global warming can be avoided if one billion people reduce their carbon emissions by just one tonne a year, for the next 10 years, according to Global Cool, which launches today at the British Museum.

This solution presented by Global Cool is based on scientific research that the climatic tipping point – beyond which the climate becomes irreversibly unstable – can be put back if we reduce the global CO2 emissions by one billion tonnes a year – from the 26.5 billion tonnes (rising at 0.5 tonnes per year) currently emitted on an annual basis. By pushing back this tipping point, the campaign will buy time to develop cleaner, renewable energy sources, such as solar, wind, water, hydrogen, bio-mass and geo-thermal power.

With the support of famous names from the world of entertainment, such as KT Tunstall and Josh Hartnett, who attended the conference today, Global Cool will empower a community of individuals to deliver the solution to the problem of global warming through positive collective action. Platinum-selling recording artists are booked to take part in a season of cool web casts on An exclusive Scissor Sisters concert can be viewed online now, and the series will continue with Maroon 5, Kasabian, Kaiser Chiefs and The Fratellis later in the year. Global Cool will also be present at and supported by the V Festival in England, Oxygen in Ireland and T in the Park in Scotland, as well as a further year of support from Fuji Rocks in Japan and other International festivals to be announced.

Meanwhile, the website carries advice on how to be cool by reducing energy consumption through doing simple things such as sharing a shower or walking to work. People will also be encouraged to offset any surplus energy they use by purchasing a Tonne of Cool via the Global Cool web site.

More info:

Soulsavers “Its Not How Far You Fall, It’s The Way You Land” Released 2nd April 2007

The Soulsavers follow up their critically acclaimed debut, Tough Guys Dont Dance, with, Its Not How Far You Fall, Its The Way You Land. Three years in the making, this time round they have joined up with Mark Lanegan who provides vocals on eight songs.
The album also features a cameo performance by Will Oldham. It’s an eleclectic recording, a unique mix of hip-hop, rock, country, soul & gospel.

Buy it:

“There are a few acts I am unwilling to perform in public. Near the top of the list is falling to my knees, raising my hands to heaven, and crying like a redeemed sinner. Luckily I was on my own when I first heard the Soulsavers. From that moment on I adopted the role of travelling medic, administering Soulsaver medicine whenever and wherever I could. Believe me brothers and sisters; I was not once chased out of town. Soulsavers aint no snake oil, it’s righteous medicine.”

– Andrew Weatherall