Capdown announce February tour and new album

A punk rock fierce panda press release

Legendary Milton Keynes five piece Capdown crash-land back into the nation’s record racks in early 2007 with their first album release for many light years. ‘Wind-Up Toys’, their third longplayer, features twelve brand new tracks including recent download-only single ‘Home Is Where The Start Is’ and December’s comeback release ‘Keeping Up Appearances’.

With the close knit line-up of Jake (vox / sax), Boob (bass), Keith (guitar / vox) and Tim (drums) now augmented by newcomer Eddie (keyboards / samples) ‘Wind-Up Toys’ completes one heck of a raucous Capdown return to the limelight. Incessant touring with A, Big Reel Fish, Bad Religion and Less Than Jake had spread the heroically underground word far and wide over the past six years until happily, the 2006 Carling Festival proved that Capdown remain as enervating a live draw as ever with the biggest crowd for the Lock-Up stage on the Saturday afternoon at Reading.

Even more happily, fresh album tracks ‘No Matter What’ and ‘Blood, Sweat And Fears’ still retain the authentic ska sparkle which has sustained Capdown through thick, thin and even thinner. Yet with Hundred Reasons’ guitarist Larry Hibbitt at the production desk there is also a new hard rock muscularity to the Capdown sound with crunching riffs bouncing off rabble-rousing melodies to mosh-mashing effect on ‘Terms & Conditions Apply’ and the rather angry title track. Consider that ‘Thrash Tuesday’ is one minute 22 seconds of manic thrashing, manic shouting and – yes – manic feedback and it becomes apparent that Capdown are far from the cusp of calming down.

See the boys get riled in February on this super tour¦

02 – Bristol Club Met at the Academy
03 – Milton Keynes Pitz
04 – Exeter Cavern
05 – Bournemouth Elements
06 – Portsmouth Wedgewood Rooms
07 – Plymouth University
08 – Bridgwater Palace
09 – Oxford Zodiac
10 – Stoke Sugarmill
12 – Sheffield Leadmill
13 – Manchester Academy III
14 – Leicester Charlotte
15 – Nottingham Rock City
16 – Middlesborough Cornerhouse
17 – Dundee Westport Bar
18 – Glasgow King Tut’s
20 – Leeds Cockpit
21 – Reading Fez
22 – London ULU
23 – Norwich Arts Centre / /

The Data
The Release: ‘WIND-UP TOYS’
The Release Date: 5th FEBRUARY 2007
The Label: fierce panda (The Catalogue Number: NONG 48CD)

The Tracklisting:
1. ‘Truly Dead’
2. ‘Blood, Sweat And Fears’
3. ‘Wind Up Toys’
4. ‘Terms And Conditions Apply’
5. ‘Surviving The Death Of A Genre’
6. ‘No Matter What’
7. ‘Thrash Tuesday’
8. ‘Generation Next’
9. ‘Keeping Up Appearances’
10. ‘Strictly Business’
11. ‘Community Service’
12. ‘Home Is Where The Start Is’

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: