Organ Radio 21: This Is Why I Bookmarked You (CD Review)

It gets said a lot but it’s always worth saying again that many bands who have gone on to become household names, the likes of Sikth, lostprophets, My Vitriol, earthtone9, Breed 77 and many more, appeared first on an Org Radio compilation. The guys at Org certainly have an ear for bands that are about to bubble over.

This give you an added bonus when you buy this new compilation, the 21st in the series; not only do you get 16 tracks of what’s hot on the underground but chances are you’ll be able to annoy your friends by telling them how you heard these bands before they did.

Things kick off with some computer aided rock from twentysixfeet and 65daysofstatic, both of whom are excellent, giving the listener two epic sounding tunes. This wave is quickly cut into by the straight ahead loudness of The Kramers, Midasuno and I-Def-I. Then comes Suns Of The Tundra, formed by members of Peach – a band Tool cite as an influence.

Leisur Hive offer up some creeping, eerie sounds, which almost (but not quite) prepare you for the burst of unhinged noise pervaded by Suitable Case For Treatment. This band are fronted by an ex-circus performer, who howls, roars and jabbers his way through 9 minutes of genius with Dead Pigeon Teachers.

This makes for a tough act to follow but the pace of the compilation holds together with metal from Cubic Space Division, some dynamic-shifting rock from Caretaker and Thee More Shallows’ 2 AM, which is a glockenspiel driven affair similar to Grandaddy. Sludgy punk shoots out from punk legend John The Baker and his new band The Malnourished and hardcore sextet When Reason Sleeps prove that Wales is still the best place in the UK for that sort of thing.

The CD closes with three pieces of hard-edged US punk from Trouble Maker, The Sick and Everything Must Go. The latter present the title track from their recent Org EP, I Hate Music and will make your ears bleed. Fittingly, this compilation is perfect for anyone out there who hates music and doesn’t know why – it’s because you haven’t heard these bands.

Read more from Indigo Flow
Label: Org Records
Release date: 31st January 2005


  1. twentysixfeet – Panic Drone
  2. 65daysofstatic – Hole
  3. The Kramers – Hey
  4. Midasuno – Taste The Virus
  5. I-Def-I – When Venus Sends Back a Rose
  6. Suns Of The Tundra – Bottlenecked
  7. Leisur Hive – Neck Decision
  8. Suitable Case For Treatment – Dead Pigeon Teachers
  9. Cubic Space Division – Silhouette
  10. Caretaker – Ennui
  11. Thee More Shallows – 2 AM
  12. John The Baker & The Malnourished – Crack Baby
  13. When Reason Sleeps – Words Can Kill
  14. Trouble Maker – Dirty Cop
  15. The Sick – Broken Ways
  16. Everything Must Go – I Hate Music

Twin Zero – Monolith (CD Review)

Originally a solo project for Subvert guitarist Reuben Gotto, Twin Zero quickly attracted interest from other musicians and expanded to a seven piece, featuring ex-members of earthtone9 and Vex Red.

Buy Monolith from Amazon

After an introduction in the shape of the first part of the album’s title track (there are another 6 parts across 20 minutes still to come) Monolith kicks off properly with Earthbound, an amazing monster of a track that features the first of many impressive performances from ex-earthtone9 vocalist Karl Middleton.

The album lasts less than 40 minutes but after hearing it, there is no way anyone could claim to have been short changed. Twin Zero lay up some prog-tinged metal here with great riffs and time signature changes aplenty. It’s like nothing you’ve heard before.

Read more from Indigo Flow
Label: Undergroove
Release date: 31st January 2005


  1. Monolith Part 000
  2. Earthbound
  3. Monolith Part 001
  4. Monolith Part 002
  5. Monolith Part 003
  6. Monolith Part 004
  7. Monolith Part 005
  8. Monolith Part 006
  9. Sixteen

Roots Manuva – Awfully Deep (CD Review)

The term “difficult third album” is often bandied about as if no artists have more than 20 or so songs in them. It would be a truly ignorant person though, who failed to acknowledge the events that have shaped Roots Manuva’s third offering – most notably a near breakdown, which saw him placed in a recovery clinic by his management, something he touches on in the album’s title track and on Too Cold.

In the grand scheme of things, though, this stuff of tabloid headlines is not the main attraction to Awfully Deep. Aside from Manuva’s obvious skills as a rapper, the music stands out as some of the most carefully assembled in UK hip hop with much of the emphasis placed on melody rather than beats.


Buy Awfully Deep from Amazon

Once you add on top of this a vocal style like no other, this turns frm a difficult third album to a triumph, one which may finally draw in the recognition Roots Manuva deserves.

Read more from Indigo Flow
Label: Big Dada
Release date: 31st January 2005


  1. Mind 2 Motion
  2. Awfully Deep
  3. Cause For Pause Pt. 1
  4. Colossal Insight
  5. Too Cold
  6. A Haunting
  7. Rebel Heart
  8. Chin High
  9. Babylon Medicine
  10. Cause For Pause Pt. 2
  11. Move Ya Loin
  12. Thinking
  13. The Falling
  14. Toothbrush