SONIC YOUTH – New album and DVD released in June

SONIC YOUTH – Sonic Nurse
Released 7th June 2004 on Geffen Records

Read the Betweenplanets review here

“The world’s greatest punk rock jam band, AND MORE!” – SPIN, The 50 Greatest Bands Of All Time

    kim gordon : guitar/bass/vocals
    thurston moore : guitar/ vocals
    lee ranaldo : guitar/ vocals
    steve shelley : drums
    jim o’rourke : good times
  • After a solid twenty-three years of explosive creativity Sonic Youth throws down what may be their heaviest classic since their own genre-breaking Daydream Nation in 1988.
  • Sonic Nurse is the nineteenth long player by the New York City supernova, together since 1981.
  • Ten songs of American beauty and sonic death with wild and colorful cover art by renowned artist Richard Prince from his notorious Nurse Paintings series.
  • Check out the first track, ‘Pattern Recognition’, and hear Kim Gordon take Justin Timberlake’s hand and stick it in a tendon-shredding meat grinder.
  • Hear Sonic Youth gay marriage the hell out of religious zealot war pigs Cheney, Rumsfeld, Bush and Ashcroft with the meditative ‘Peace Attack’.
  • Imagine Bare Trees-era Fleetwood Mac jamming with Jealous Again-era Black Flag on the heart-pounding ‘Unmade Bed’ and ‘I Love Golden Blue’.
  • Listen to the core reactor awesomeness of ‘Paper Cup Exit’ as it reduces such legends as Led Zeppelin and Yes to just so much British schoolboy whimpering.


    RELEASED 14th JUNE 2004

    Read the Betweenplanets review here

    Sonic Youth, one of the most seminal rock bands on the planet are set to release their first ever DVD. Corporate Ghost contains 23 videos handpicked by the band themselves from their extensive Geffen Records catalogue, and is preceded by Sonic Youthâ??s 19th studio album ‘Sonic Nurse’ on 7th June.

    Corporate Ghost includes the classics ‘Dirty Boots’, ‘Kool Thing’, ‘My Friend Goo’, ‘100%’ & â??Sugar Kane’. As well as cameo and guest appearances including Sophia Coppola, Chloe Sevigny, Kathleen Hanna, Kim Deal, Macaulay Culkin & Sleater-Kinney, the collection features work from a vast range of cult figures including the directorial talents of Harmony Korine and Spike Jonze.

    Bonus footage includes the seldom-seen videos ‘Drunken Butterfly’, ‘Swimsuit Issue’, the original cut of ‘Disappearer’ and Thurston Moore solo ‘Ono Soul’. Other bonus features include commentaries by the band and directors on the videos, a Spike Jonze photo montage, an exclusive interview with Sonic Youth, plus two “Easter Eggs”.

    This is a classic retrospective of one of the most influential rock bands of the 80’s & 90’s – a must have in any serious rock fan’s collection.

  • CategoriesUncategorized

    Leave a Reply

    This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.