Gomez release details of New Album

Gomez can confirm that the title of their forthcoming album is ‘Split The Difference’ scheduled for release in late May 2004 through Hut Recordings.

For the last 18 months Gomez have hid themselves away in their own studio in the dreary Sussex town of Portslade. Perhaps not the most rock ‘n’ roll setting to write new material in but then again Gomez have never done things the conventional way. In that time though, around 50 songs surfaced from the sessions; thirteen of which now happily make up the composition for this their fourth album.

For their past three albums Gomez adopted a DIY approach preferring to record and produce their music themselves. For ‘Split The Difference’ however, they’ve recruited the help of Tchad Blake, who’s worked with everyone from Tom Waits to Crowded House. The result? A straight-forward (in Gomez terms) down the line rock ‘n’ roll album, oozing layer upon layer of bluesy rock riffs, and trademark vocal harmonies.

The first fruits to be released from ‘Split The Difference’ is current single ‘Catch Me Up’ out on 8th March through Hut Recordings. The album is scheduled to follow in May.
Full track listing of ‘Split The Difference’ is as follows:

  • Do One
  • These 3 Sins
  • Silence
  • Me, You and Everybody
  • We Don’t Know Where We’re Going
  • Sweet Virginia
  • Catch Me Up
  • Where Ya Going?
  • Meet Me In The City
  • Chicken Out
  • Extra Special Guy
  • Nothing is Wrong
  • There It Was



Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.