Caiaphas to release debut EP

Caiaphas: an original four-piece alternative rock band, who have recently
released their self-produced debut recording, ‘The Crush EP’. Their music
combines melodic and memorable tunes with thoughtful lyrics.

Read On… The band is based in the Midlands, and has been performing in the Stoke,
Stafford and Wolverhampton areas over the last few months. They now intend
to promote the EP on a larger scale by heading further afield and playing
gigs nationwide. Their push for nationwide recognition has been helped by
their recent inclusion into PopEx, the online music stock exchange game

Lead vocals, guitars and piano are shared between Mike Beardsworth and Adam
Byrne, with Chris Scholes on bass and Mark Byrne on drums. Song writing is
shared between the band, with lyrics covering subjects such as the music
industry, stalking and rejection.

“The EP is very diverse, really,” says Mike, “Separate Ways is a song we
love performing live, because of its energy, while Paraglide is quite
demanding to listen to, as it combines several styles and is always changing

Caiaphas are keen to involve the fans as much as possible, often making new
tracks available for download in early demo form on their official website,
inviting feedback and constructive criticism.

The Crush EP is available to buy at gigs, or from the official website.

Pretty Girls Make Graves – ‘All Medicated Geniuses’

Pretty Girls Make Graves – ‘All Medicated Geniuses’

RELEASE DATE: 8th December 2003

One of the standout tracks on Pretty Girls Make Grave’s recent album The New Romance is the blistering ‘All Medicated Geniuses’. There’s a rallying yell of ‘Here’s the kid with the golden arm!’ to which singer Andrea Zollo responds by weaving her frenzied vocals through the incredible interplaying guitars and stabbing bass. This is a sure-fire anthem for the close of 2003 from a band whose presence demands to be felt.

Read On… The b-side features a cover of Bow Wow Wow’s ‘C30, C60, C90 Go!’ a song praising the virtues of the cassette tape. It is a perfect fit for Pretty Girls Make Graves, whose version is entirely faithful to the original but it still sounds utterly their own. The third track is a previously unreleased instrumental called ‘Magical Lights’ which continues the 80s theme, utilising poppy-boppy Casio keyboards and beats to make their own little disco number.

The CD single will also include a Quicktime version of the fabulous video for ‘This Is Our Emergency’ directed by Mike Ott.

Having released The New Romance a few months ago, Pretty Girls Make Graves have been making their mark Stateside. The album has become the surprise indie hit of the year in the US, winning over thousands of listeners with saturation radio play and thus making it to the top five of the College radio chart (CMJ). They are currently on a massive sold-out US tour, playing large venues and performing several free in-stores en-route in the bigger record shops across America. The band have also been well received by the press and they have been widely featured in publications such as NME, Kerrang!, Dazed and Confused, Spin, Rocksound and Alternative Press.

They return to these shores with a string of dates in December, so bring your Christmas party hats and strings of tinsel and get down to one of these shows. The band put on passionately energetic live performance, simmering with raw power and ferocious enthusiasm. This is definitely a band to keep an eye on, and things will keep hotting up for Pretty Girls Make Graves as the New Year dawns.


  • 15th – Oxford, Zodiac
  • 16th – Nottingham, Rescue Rooms
  • 17th – Manchester, University
  • 18th – London, Meanfiddler (support from Kaito and The Thermals)
  • 19th – Brighton, Freebutt


The Blueskins – December Tour Dates

“a jitter-pop smart bomb” NME

The Blueskins return to the road in December following final sessions for their debut LP, due for release in Spring of next year.

The band have spent the year alternating between studio sessions in the wilds of Snowdonia with producer Richard Formby (Spacemen 3, Spectrum) and incendiary gigs throughout the UK. Recent shows for Radio One in Brighton and MTV2 at York Fibbers have seen the band add to their ever growing fanbase.

Read On… Debut single “User Friendly” and the follow up Ep “Magic Road” have given the UK a taste of The Blueskins and these end of year shows are a last chance to catch one of the bands of 2003.

The dates include another special show for Playlouder and a special Christmas party with mulled wine and plenty of surprises at Highbury’s Electrowerkz.

Dates are as follows:


  • Tuesday 2nd – London, THE ICA Playlouder night (with The Killers and headline act Ikara Colt)
  • Thursday 11th – Leeds, Wardrobe
  • Friday 12th – Sheffield, Fez Club
  • Saturday 13th – Coventry, Colliseum
  • Monday 15th – Bristol, Louisiana
  • Tuesday 16th – Colchester, Soundhaus
  • Wednesday 17th – Southend, Chinnerys
  • Thursday 18th – London, Electrowerkz

“A Christmas Special” featuring: The Blueskins, Mountaineers, The Dead 60’s plus live guest tbc

Simian Mobile Disco (live decks and fx)
Dj Father Christmas & The Merry Tom Tens
plus: Mince Pies and Mulled Wine, a christmas raffle and other christmas surprises